The Economic Cooperation Administration (ECA) (1948 - 1951) was an agency of the U.S. government created to administer the Marshall Plan in 1948. Reporting to both the Department of Commerce and the State Department, the ECA maintained offices in the capitals of all sixteen countries that participated in in the Marshall Plan. The agency existed until 1951, when the Mutual Security Agency succeeded it, and is one of the predecessors of the United States Agency for International Development.