The Trzaska, Evert, and Michalski Publishing House (1919 - 1945, 1945 - 1951) was founded in Warsaw, Poland, by two booksellers, Władysław Trzaska (May 7, 1881 - December 21, 1964) and Jan Michalski, and Ludwik Józef Evert (September 23, 1863 - March 20, 1945), an industrialist and senator. The publishing house began as a bookstore founded by Michalski and Trzaska in 1916, with publishing operations beginning on May 20, 1920. By 1921 it was a joint stock company. By 1939, they operated offices in Częstochowa, Gdynia, Katowice, Kraków, Łódź, Lublin, Łuck, Lviv, Poznań and Vilnius. They became one of the most renowned bookstores of the interwar period, with their books winning the Grand Prix at the 1937 Paris Exposition Universelle. Their output included dictionaries, popular science publications, textbooks, and works of geography, literature, art, culture, and history. They also published several popular series, including 'The Knowledge Library', 'The Automobilist's Library', 'The Travel Library', and 'The Photographic Library'. World War II erupted and did severe damage to the business. Their warehouses were destroyed during the 1939 siege of Warsaw and their manuscripts and finished books were destroyed in the National Printing House in Krakow during the September Campaign. Publishing was suspended during World War II, but the bookshop remained open (under a German name) and moved to a different location. After the war, the shop moved again, and publishing resumed in 1945. State-owned businesses took over all publishing in 1951, ending that part of Trzaska, Evert, and Michalski's business. Trzaska ran the bookstore until 1963.